Nek-Nomination

A new “craze” taking over my Facebook wall is a drinking challenge stemming from Australia.

It involves people drinking impressive amounts of alcohol then burping and then nominating two other friends. (I’m positive 50 per cent of people puke their brains out after)

For me, I rarely drink and if I do, it’s a holiday.

I’ve been dreading getting nominated and dodging the opportunity at all costs. The thought of explaining to someone in the age range of 18-30 that I don’t want to film myself chugging a beer on a wednesday night, or that I don’t drink at all is frustrating.

I understand that I am 19 and should be hitting up the town on the weekends. But, lets be realistic I’ve been drinking since I was 16 years-old. I have drank long enough to share stories of puking on myself, kicking over giant Canada Post mailboxes and having “beer goggles.”

There comes a time in your life when you feel like you are a real mature adult. I have reached that peak. You could say, “I have my shit together.”

So, when I got nominated, I was ecstatic about the idea that I would get to do something nice and have something to show for it. One of my new years resolutions was to try and do something nice for someone everyday, and I think that I have almost accomplished that.

My best friend Shannon was the one who nominated me. Unimpressed by the drinking videos, she took a pile of donations to a local humane society where the lady at the front desk was smiling and saying “they are going to be so happy!” It was deffiently a feel good moment.

Since my roommate is a dog, I decided to use her cuteness in my nomination. Our video started out with me outlining what I would do. Beau and I would be cruising over to Pet Smart to pick out some stuff to also donate. I totally copied her idea but I am dog obsessed so it was only fitting.

Once inside, I filmed Beau sniffing bags of food and picking up toys. The people at Pet Smart were super friendly and happily acted in my video. We donated our toys and took one home for ourselves.. or beau.

I also decided to call a local nursing home, looking to become a volunteer.

After it was all said and done, I wish I could have done more but it was great to feel like I am helping someone out!

Leave a Reply

